About the Learning in Practice Award

Since 2003, the Chief Learning Officer Learning In Practice awards have recognized learning leaders who demonstrate excellence in the design and delivery of employee development programs through a combination of qualities such as leadership, vision, business acumen and strategic alignment.

Nominations will open for the 2020 Learning in Practice Awards April 6. Winners will be announced during the awards reception at the Fall 2020 CLO Symposium in Chicago.


If you have questions about the awards, selection process or nomination form, direct inquiries to Ashley St. John, Chief Learning Officer’s managing editor, at astjohn@humancapitalmedia.com.


About the Learning in Practice Award

Judges include senior practitioners, learning and development experts, Chief Learning Officer editors and past award winners. Each nomination is reviewed by multiple judges. Winners will be determined by averaging scores assigned by judges to each entry. In the event of a tie, a select group of judges will review competing entries to determine winners.

If you are interested in being a judge, please contact Chief Learning Officer Managing Editor Ashley St. John at astjohn@humancapitalmedia.com.

How to enter the competition

How to Enter the Learning In Practice Awards.

Here’s how to Enter the Learning in Practice Awards:

  1. Log in to the nomination entry portal.
  2. Select the category you wish to enter.
  3. Submit details for each entry. You will be required to enter nominee information (the person or company being nominated for an award), nominator information (the person to contact regarding status of the nomination) and answers to a set of nomination questions.
  4. Pay entry fee and finalize submission.

Interested in seeing the application questions now? Please see below to download the appropriate form.

Are you a provider? DOWNLOAD NOW

Are you a practitioner? DOWNLOAD NOW

Interested in being named CLO of the Year? DOWNLOAD NOW

For any other questions regarding the Learning in Practice Awards, please submit this form.

About Learning Elite

The Learning in Practice Awards are presented annually to practitioners and providers in recognition of excellence in learning and employee development. Gold, silver and bronze awards are awarded in two broad classes. Practitioner awards recognize CLOs and qualified senior learning leaders for their work within their organizations. Provider awards recognize qualified service providers, vendors and consultants for their work on behalf of a client organization.

Please note: Provider awards will be given to the service providers, vendors and consultants only; client companies are not listed jointly as recipients of these awards.

Practitioner Awards

Provider Awards

Whitepapers for download


About Learning Elite

About Learning Elite